Returned

It is nine months to the day

My one heart was shattered

Into a million tiny fragments

Of sharp pain

How does one rebuild this?

It seemed impossible.

As though my heart was made with glass

And no matter how hard I tried

To put it together

It will never be quite as whole

As it was before

 

It is nine months to the day

That my soul was ripped from this earthy body

And all that truly remains

Is a shadow

How does one regain this?

It seemed impossible

How can my soul be lost

To the universe around me

If it ever returns to my body

It will never be as colourful and light

As I once knew it to be.

 

It is nine months to the day

That my emotions disappeared

Replaced with a numbness

And the dark

How does one remember happiness?

It seemed impossible

As if trying to recall a dream from months ago

Regardless of who I spent time with

It never really reappeared

Occasional glimpses

Will be as close as I’ll ever get

 

It is nine months to the day

That my self was destroyed

An empty shell

Of the person I knew so well

How can I become who I was once before?

It seemed impossible

So far out of reach I was uncontactable

Despite calling out to me

For the last nine months

I’ve learnt I can’t return her back

And so I must embrace the new me

Or forever live in regret

Leave a Reply

