My Cave

IMG_1741

How does this cave keep getting darker?
And why do the walls just get closer?
And why does this tunnel just keep getting longer?
Well maybe it will make me stronger.
Or perhaps it is to hide me from the world.

Yet escape is made the more impossible by the barriers in my mind,
And how I wish I could tear them down and run away blind
To all that I have witnessed.

But that will not strengthen my soul or test my endurance.
So at the very least I will sit in this darkness.
The sound of my tears falling in puddles
echoes and resonates in this place
until I can bear them no more.

Self pity will not lead me from here
and whilst I wait a while longer
the silence now allows a clarity
I use to reflect on all that I can not yet see.

This cave is not where I want to be.

(17/02/2011)

Leave a Reply

